Enjoying life on purpose

Living in the moment

So this is the blog I promised you last weekend. Better late than never! I forgot my motto of “Promise less – Deliver more” for a moment.

Did you know there’s a book in heaven called “The God and Kate Adventure”. We’re writing it together. I ask him “What shall we do today?’ then we do things and he writes it down. Some days he asks “What do you want to do, Kate?” We do all of it together.

Just lately,  God’s had to write nearly every day because he taught me a new thing – living in the moment. Before then he would suggest lots of things but we would rarely get round to doing them. I thought I would do them when the house was totally clean and tidy, when the “to do” list was all ticked off and complete, when…………..you get the idea! Those things are never ending.

Now, it’s different. We do the God and Kate things first, then the other things  just fall into place or don’t get done but it doesn’t seem to matter so much. Not only that, but the God and Kate things are such an adventure and they make a really good book.

When I was a child, one of my favourite books was a thin hardback book that had belonged to my Aunty Wendy. I still have the book somewhere in the loft. It is the story of a big bird and a little girl who rides on his back as he flies around the world visiting different countries. Each page has a picture showing a  country visited and its people dressed in their national costume going about their daily life.  In those days, I would often dream of flying out of my window on my bed and visiting other places – adventure dreams. When I grew up I still remembered the dream and wrote a poem about it.

Dream Counterpane

Soaring out of my bedroom window

Beneath

Dream counterpane.

Exotic sultans,

Jewel encrusted lands.

Brass bedstead

spells security

But give me dreams

Every time.

God wants us to experience adventures even as adults, the whole of our lives in fact.

It’s important to write things down so we can see over the years how God unfolds and directs our lives.

Recently, God has been speaking to our church through prophecy and dreams, about  being prepared and positioned for a year where we do the will of God. This brings glory to God and always seems to entail adveture of one sort or another. Here’s some of the things God has said:

“There is clear air in front of us, space to step into and occupy.” – I intend to do that this year.

“What we decide this year will determine what and where we are in 10 years time” – so I’m gladly submitting to his purposes.

“God remembers his promises and is bringing things to birth.”

“It’s a year to complete things which have lain dormant” – those things which have lain in our hearts since childhood – for me,  things like writing travelling – are meant to be brought to completion. what things are lying dormant in your heart? Let them rise up and be brought to completion this year.

“The plough is ready for us to put our hand to it, but we mustn’t look back.” – there’s lots of things waiting for me if I don’t look back to what’s past.

“We are at a time of surrendering to God where we enter the holy place” – God told me that laying down my life down his way (rather than in an ‘ought to’ slavish way) brings life, like sowing a seed in the ground grows into new life. I’ve been released from bondage to “ought to’s” into ability to live in the moment, not locked in the past or worrying about tomorrow. The joy of the Lord is my strength and it comes as I  live moment by moment walking and talking with God.

I pray you will find the joy of the Lord and have adventures with him this year.

x

Comments on: "Living in the moment" (2)

  1. Love it. Needed to read these words. Must have missed them over previous weeks 😉 loving the God and Kate book. I wanted to read it 😉 I actually have a book called “mister God, this is Anna”. keep writing. Keep travelling 🙂 xxxx

    • Thanks Anna. Glad I’m where I am right now. Could have lived my life in the “To do” list and completely missed the adventure – how sad would that be!! xx

Leave a comment